Skip to main content

Rhodes Scholarship

Rhodes Pic"The Rhodes Scholarships were established after the death of Cecil Rhodes, who dreamed of improving the world through the diffusion of leaders motivated to serve their contemporaries, trained in the contemplative life of the mind, and broadened by their acquaintance with one another and by their exposure to cultures different from their own."

Every year 32 U.S. citizens are selected for this prestigious honor. The Rhodes Scholarship includes two years of study at the University of Oxford with the possibility of renewing for a third year. The award includes sufficient funds to cover tuition, laboratory, and matriculation costs as well as a stipend for semester living and summer travel.


  • Be U.S. citizens.
  • Be 18 years of age or older but not yet 24 at the time of application.
  • Have a bachelor’s degree from UNM before entering Oxford.
  • Submit UNM Preliminary Application Form by March 10.

Relevant websites:

  1. American Rhodes Scholarship Official Site
  2. Rhodes Trust Official Site
  3. Oxford University

Rhodes Election Districts in the United States

District 1: Maine, Massachusetts, Vermont
District 2: Connecticut, New Hampshire, New Jersey
District 3: New York
District 4: Pennsylvania, Rhodes Island
District 5: Delaware, Maryland/DC
District 6: Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina
District 7: Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi
District 8: Oklahoma, Texas
District 9: Indiana, Kentucky, Virginia
District 10: Illinois, Ohio
District 11: Michigan, Minnesota, Wisconsin, West Virginia
District 12: Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Tennessee
District 13: Colorado, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming
District 14: Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington
District 15: Arizona, California-North, Hawaii, Nevada
District 16: California-South, Arizona

Undergraduate Research
Honors College